Home » Keeping In Touch » Catching Up

Catching Up

Phew! I can’t believe it is October! WHERE HAS THE TIME GONE?!! No, seriously! Where has it gone? Wasn’t it just the beginning of summer and the start of school was months away?? How is it possible that we are three weeks into school, that the leaves are turning color, that the summer clothes are slowly finding their way into the back of the closet??

I can’t believe everything that has been happening around here. Mostly good. Some tough stuff. Some not so good. But life continues on….and it’s time for me to get you caught up on what we’ve been up to.

July was a month without big kids – they were away at their grandparents’ in Ontario and then off to summer camp for a week. I have to say, this was the best summer camp week ever! They went together for the first time ever (someone please remind me why I thought it was a good idea to send them separate weeks all these years!!) and came home with mutual stories to tell and memories made. I need to remind them of those days – they were actually FRIENDS for a few days, maybe even a couple of weeks, after that week as they reminisced about those glorious 5 days at camp!

August found us dealing with major changes – job changes for the husband, relationship changes for a few family members, a family wedding, a residence change for a family member and beautiful weather. It wasn’t an easy month, but it wasn’t a bad month. It just was life. We enjoyed ourselves at times, we shed tears at other times. I think it’s safe to say that we experienced emotions in all their vastness and the many ups and downs that it can take you on. No sooner were we adjusting to one change when another would come along. I actually felt like a pingpong ball being tossed from one end of the table to the other with no chance to regain my equilibrium in between.

September came along and before we knew it this whole adventure we decided to embark on was starting. EEK! We’re actually doing this homeschooling thing!! Now I gotta be honest with you. I had high hopes for this “GRAND ADVENTURE”! HIGH hopes. But I was realistic – I knew it was going to be a transition. But let me tell ya! I had no idea just how much of a transition it was going to be for all of us. WHOOEEE!!! It is only by the grace of God that I have not eaten my young this month and thank GOD they have had the grace and maturity to realize that their mother is simply on a crazy train and that there is no need to run away, that the train will arrive at the station sometime soon and all will go back to normal.

FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY DO NOT START SUCH AN ADVENTURE AS WE HAVE WHEN YOU ARE PMS’ING!!!!

That’s all I have to say about THAT!!! 😛

Okay, no. In all seriousness, it’s been a tough go but it’s not been a bad one. I wouldn’t change our decision to home school based on the last 3 weeks. We’ve had some pretty unsuccessful days if you measure success by amount of work completed. But if you measure it by how many children lived to see another day? We’re ACE-ING this one!! 😀 Or at least I am! HA! It has been a much greater transition than I anticipated though. And it continues to be a transition as we learn to work together and around each other. Let me tell you, when you can’t even get alone to pee without someone (usually a toddler) walking in on you or pounding on the door because you’ve, for some crazy reason, locked it, well, you tend to go a little bit nutso. Or a lot. Yea. A lot might be more appropriate! Ah but things are slowly coming together and we WILL get through this too!

In other areas, we’ve all started new activities – I am heading up the childcare for the Wednesday morning group at our church and the kids are helping with the childcare (totally convenient, I know!). Isaac is going to Air Cadets and is growing through that. Emily is taking a bit of a break after several years of being very busy with choirs etc. Tim is working at a new job and we’re all enjoying the more normal hours. Liam is, well, he’s being adorable…usually. Teething is happening. And OH MY WORD!!!!!!!! I had no idea this child could be so, well, HORRID!!! I love him and it’s a darn good thing because HOLY COW he’s been CRANKY!!! Yes I am using CAPITALS – it’s really been THAT bad!!! He’s cutting his 2 year molars and they are not being kind to him therefore he’s being unkind to us. This will pass but in the meantime it makes for some long long days!! Poor little guy.

I’ve been working hard on my Stampin’ Up! business again and seeing some good results from that. It’s been fun to create projects that customers love and to see their eyes light up when they realize that they are capable of creating beautiful things that others will appreciate. Of course the admin in me loves the planning and stuff for the in home workshops, the classes and the fairs coming up. Now I just need to find the time to get all the projects completed that I really want to!!

And there you have it. A brief “here’s what’s been going on” for us. There’s other stuff going on, things behind the scenes or inside my heart & the hearts of my family members that I haven’t mentioned here. I’ll be sharing some of those things over the next little while. There are activities and changes coming up that are both exciting and scary. There are potentially new roles that will be taken on and new ideas explored. It’s all very exciting to think about how we as a family are going to grow both in numbers and in our own hearts and minds over the next few months. I’ll share as much of the journey with everyone as I can….I just hope there’s time enough to tell all the stories!

God continues to be very good to our family. I am so very thankful.

A few shots from the last couple of weeks…..

2014-09-11 11.33.40

Horseback Riding with my Girl

Book shopping with Mom - Start them young!!

Book shopping with Mom – Start them young!!

Family dinner out - Big boy didn't need a booster seat!

Family dinner out – Big boy didn’t need a booster seat!

Babywearing Demo - September 2014

Babywearing Demo – September 2014

Leave a Reply

