Home » Reflections » The Least Of These

The Least Of These

I had a big post written earlier today about my thoughts on this whole World Vision debacle coming out of the US – I deleted it as it was too judgey. Instead I want to say this: I am saddened by the fact that over 10,000 children have lost their funding overnight because of people’s knee jerk reactions to a decision that was made that they didn’t agree with.  I don’t agree with that. I don’t necessarily agree with World Vision either but bottom line is this:

MY JOB IS NOT TO AGREE 100% WITH EVERYTHING YOU CHOOSE TO DO.

My JOB is to take care of the “least of these” in whatever way I can.

I am to utilize organizations and resources that have been put in place to take my dollar and stretch it as far as possible. If I have made a commitment to do so with one organization, I need to follow through on that. I am not obligated to enter into further commitments with that organization but I do need to honour what I have already world visionagreed to. Jesus, I think, would honour that even if he didn’t agree with the decisions an organization has made. It’s not my place to judge them – that is God’s. He’ll hold the leadership and the organization accountable for any wrong-doing they have done in HIS eyes. My job is to simply give to the poor and care for them as best I can.

So I will continue to support organizations that can take my dollar and make the best possible use of it. I will continue to do so even if I don’t completely agree with everything they are doing. I am called to be a steward of my finances and I know that organizations like World Vision are in a better position to help people with my dollars than I am. I’m choosing to focus on the least of these and trust that God will deal with the rest of it. If I decide I can’t continue my relationship with an organization for any reason, I am going to honour my commitment rather than break it and will simply not renew a commitment with them in the future. I’m going to think through my decisions and make sure they are not based on emotion and knee-jerk reactions. I am going to do my best to find an organization that I can support without reservation, however, if I cannot find one, I will not be absolved of my duty to others – I will simply have to find an organization doing the most good that I disagree with the least (if that makes sense!). I just cannot ignore the command to love others and care for the poor. Jesus didn’t put conditions on that – it was a straightforward command – and I can’t pretend that there are any loopholes to it. Hopefully others will be able to do the same.

Now, I’m off to find a child to sponsor – I hear there are thousands needing it right now.

Leave a Reply

